Saute Pork with tomatoes

Standard

I have been trying to get my middle-aged mind to look at the world with a different set of eyes these days.   I’ve got to admit that things are definitely moving in a different pace these days….who would have thought back in my youth that one day we  actually talk to people with two thumbs.  Just the mere thought of it then will get some strange looks from people! But now even this old bird is getting the hang of texting to people and engaging in long and sometimes meaningful conversations.

Here is one good example of doing things differently these days as in my old favorite”Pork chops with sautéed tomato”.  This is one of the dishes I am well acquainted with, and for years have been cooking the way I was taught by mom.   So when I came across this recipe from this website I was pretty “psyched” about how she made it.   So on to the freezer I dug and  found this pack of pork chops sitting there waiting to be experimented in a new way.  ahh yes, old wine in a new skin !

As usual, I over cooked the chops.  For some reason I never quite fully accept the idea that it is okay to have a little bit of pink in your pork ( as my foodie keeps reminding me).  But what I did to kill the chops, I made it up with the sauce. I am totally crazy about the sauce ( so different from mom’s) but who would have thought that a couple of spoon of black vinegar can bring out a different flavor in an old and familiar dish !

Here is the recipe:

Sauté Pork with Tomatoes Recipe
Adapted from Cooking Light
Serves 4 | Prep Time: 5 minutes | Cook Time: 10 minutes

Ingredients:

4 teaspoons cooking oil
4 boneless center-cut pork loin about 1/2 inch thick
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/2 cup thinly sliced shallots
1 tablespoon minced garlic
2 tablespoons Chinkiang vinegar (black vinegar)
2 cups red and yellow grape tomatoes, halved
1/8 teaspoon sugar
3 tablespoons chopped basil

Method:

Sprinkle the pork chops evenly with 1/4 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper.

Heat up a large non-stick wok or skillet. Add in 1 teaspoon oil, coat well. Cook the pork chops until desired tenderness.

Transfer the pork chops to serving plates. Add in the remaining oil. While the oil is heating, combine and toss the tomatoes with the remaining salt, ground pepper and sugar in a bowl. Set aside.

When oil is ready, add the sliced shallots and minced garlic and cook until aromatic. Next, add in vinegar and stir well. Gently add the tomatoes into the wok and stir to combine. Cook until the tomatoes are soft, approximately 2-3 minutes.

Turn off the heat, add in 2 tablespoons chopped basil and stir well. Divide the tomato mixture equally among the pork chops and garnish with the remaining basil. Serve with warm steamed rice.

Cook’s Note:

Chinkiang vinegar can be substituted with Chinese rice vinegar but the taste may be slightly different.

 
About mamaj

mom with two grown up girls, children pastor, avid knitter, coffee-lover, bear-collector. I love reading, hanging out with my girl friends and yes, I am owned by a golden lab, Jaden.

Leave a Reply

