A Pleasant Surprise–Salty and Sweet

Standard

Ever since my daughter took over the baking duties of this household, I have not touched my measuring spoons for a while.   She is very good at it  and manages to find all these cool recipes to try. To her baking is fun, and she enjoys it.  Because of this I don’t usually look for dessert recipes online,  but the other day when I stumbled upon this food blog  (http://cravingchronicles.com/ ) I was very much tempted by this recipe.

I have a very young friend who has a love for chocolate and bacon  ever since she was a young kid.  I remembered one year someone made a joke about giving her some chocolate covered bacon for Christmas, and I found that it was quite an amusing idea.  So when I actually saw this recipe I immediately thought about her.  I could not wait to try it out, and I got to say I never expected I like it, but amazing enough the cookie tastes really good. Even my in house baker gave me her nod of approval.

Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies

Adapted from The New York Times
Makes about 2 dozen cookies

( Mamaj: This is actually the first time I had to let the cookie dough rest for prolonged period of time.  I read that the 24-36 hour rest period is vital to create flavor for the cookies.  But you don’t put in the bacon bits until the last minute before you actually is ready to put the cookie dough in the oven.  I found out that the bacon bits tasted really crispy when baked.  It just add a wonderful texture to this all time favorite )

Ingredients

2 cups minus 2 tablespoons (8 1/2 ounces) cake flour
1 2/3 cups (8 1/2 ounces) AP flour
1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/4 teaspoons coarse salt
2 1/2 sticks (1 1/4 cups) unsalted butter, room temperature
1 1/4 cups (10 ounces) light brown sugar
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons (8 ounces) granulated sugar
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons natural vanilla extract
2 1/4 cups bittersweet chocolate chips, at least 60 percent cacao content
6 slices crisp cooked bacon, chopped

Directions

In a medium bowl, whisk together flours, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Set aside.

Using a mixer with paddle attachment, cream together butter and sugars until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes.

Add eggs one at a time, incorporating completely after each addition.

 Add vanilla. Reduce mixer to lowest speed and carefully add flour mixture. Mix until just combined.

Fold in chocolate chips by hand.

Cover dough with plastic wrap and refrigerate 24 – 36 hours, up to 72 hours.

When ready to bake, set dough out at room temperature. Preheat oven to 350°F. Line two baking sheets with Silpats or parchment paper.

When dough has warmed enough to be pliable but not too soft, fold in chopped bacon. Using a 2 tablespoon cookie scoop, measure 8 cookies out on a baking sheet.

 Bake one sheet at a time, 15-20 minutes or until edges are starting to brown.

 Cool 2-3 minutes on baking sheet, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

About mamaj

mom with two grown up girls, children pastor, avid knitter, coffee-lover, bear-collector. I love reading, hanging out with my girl friends and yes, I am owned by a golden lab, Jaden.

Leave a Reply

