Christmas Brunch

Standard

On Christmas morning, I met up with my knitting club ladies for brunch.  We had a good turn out and an interesting presentation of food, from chow mein to burritos, it was an international affair.   It was a good way to spend the morning with our members and their families.

I made overnight french toast with pecans, a recipe I had wanted to try for a long time .  I love the topping,  the pecans were nicely toasted.  I found the bread a little too soggy for my taste.  Next time I will try to use bread which is more than a day old.

  • 1 Large  French Bread
  • 6 – 8 eggs
  • 2 cup Heavy Cream
  • 1 cup Milk
  • 2 tablespoons Sugar
  • pinch Salt
  • 1/2 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp Nutmeg

Butter a 9 X 13 Casserole. Slice french bread into 20 slices (less if you’re using a smaller pan or have a small loaf or want thicker slices). Mix remaining ingredients until well blended but not too bubbly. Dip each slice of bread in the milk mixture and overlap in casserole in a semi-standing position.  Pour remaining milk mixture over bread. Cover and refrigerate overnight. Add 1 T vanilla to milk mixture if you like.

Prepare topping:

  • 1 Cup chopped pecans
  • 1/2 Cup softened butter
  • 2 TBS light Karo syrup
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 Cup packed light brown sugar.

Mix all ingredients and spread over the top of the French Toast.

Bake for 45 minutes at 350 until raised and golden brown.

About mamaj

mom with two grown up girls, children pastor, avid knitter, coffee-lover, bear-collector. I love reading, hanging out with my girl friends and yes, I am owned by a golden lab, Jaden.

Leave a Reply

