Roses are Red

Standard

roses for my sweethearts

I bought this rose cupcake pan years ago without any particular reasons except they looked so pretty.  It ended up sitting in the bottom of the drawer all these years as I never found anything I wanted to make.   It was only when I saw these cute cupcakes from Kirby’s craving that I remember I have the baking pan.  I was going to make chocolate rose cupcakes but since Valentine’s Day is right around the corner, it is more fitting to make red velvet roses instead.  In addition to the dozen of rose cupcakes, I also made some heart shaped ones.  I am a big fan of cupcakes, and I have to say they taste really good. ( Ariella said I am tooting my own horn)

Magnolia Bakery’s Red Velvet Cupcakes ( From Evan’s Kitchen Ramblings)

Ingredients

3  cups cake flour

375g unsalted butter, room temp

2 ¼ cups sugar

3 large eggs, at room temperature

6 tbsps red food coloring

3 tbsps unsweetened cocoa

1 ½ tsps vanilla extract

1 ½ tsps salt

1 ½ cups buttermilk

1 ½ tsps cider vinegar

1 ½ tsps baking soda

Directions

1.
In a small bowl, sift the cake flour and set aside. In a large bowl, on
the medium speed of an electric mixer, cream the butter and sugar until
very light and fluffy, about 5 minutes. Add the eggs, one at a time,
beating well after each addition.

2. In a small bowl, whisk together the red food coloring, cocoa, and vanilla. Add to the batter and beat well.  (I found it hard to mix this.  I’m not sure why the food coloring is added to this mixture and not directly into the liquid batter.)

3.
In a measuring cup, stir the salt into the buttermilk. Add to the
batter in three parts, alternating with the flour. With each addition,
beat until the ingredients are incorporated, but do not overbeat.

4.
In a small bowl, stir together the cider vinegar and baking soda. Add
to the batter and mix well. Using a rubber spatula, scrape down the
batter in the bowl, making sure the ingredients are well blended and
the batter is smooth.

5. Spoon batter into cupcake liners (or in my case, I used my mini rose muffin bundt pan) until
2/3 full. bake in a preheated oven of 340F for 20 mins or until a knife inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean.

(  Note: Since I made rose cupcakes, I did not frost them in order to keep the shapes, and for the food coloring I had used three tablespoons of red coloring and a package of strawberry jello powder to give it some favors)

Chocolate Cupcake Roses (From Kirbie’s Craving)

Ingredients

2 cups sugar
1-3/4 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup cocoa powder
1-1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1-1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1 cup milk
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup boiling water

Directions:
1. Heat oven to 350°F. Grease rose muffin pan or line cupcake pan with cupcake liners.

2. Stir together sugar, flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt
in large bowl. Add eggs, milk, oil and vanilla; beat on medium speed of
mixer 2 minutes. Stir in boiling water (batter will be thin). Pour
batter into prepared pans.

3. Fill cups 2/3 full with batter. Bake 22 to 25 minutes

Leave a Reply

