Kabocha Cakes

Standard

I have this kabocha ( Japanese pumpkin)sitting in my basket for a couple of weeks, and I have been thinking  how to cook it in a different way.   I had only made it with spareribs, stewed or steamed  with black bean sauce.  Both taste good, but it is about time I try something else.

There is this recipe for potatoes pancake ( Asian style) so I thought I will try it with pumpkin instead.  Other than the fact that the mashed pumpkin is a little soft and make frying it a little challenging, this really works.  The saltiness of the bacon tune down the sweetness of the pumpkin, and the bread crumb held it all together.  Next time when I make it again, I will remember not to make them too big, it tends to fall apart when I flip it.

Here is the recipe:

1 small kabocha, washed and roasted

6 slices of fried bacon, cut into small pieces

1 green onion, chopped

2 tbsp of cornstarch

1 egg beaten

1 cup of breadcrumbs

  1. Wash and cut pumpkin in half, remove all seeds.  Roast pumpkin halves in 350 oven until the inside is soft enough to scoop.
  2. Mash pumpkin with one egg, add bacon bits, chopped onions, cornstarch, half of the  breadcrumbs
  3. Mix well, add more crumbs or cornstarch until it holds
  4. form balls in the palm of your hand, dip and roll in the rest of the breadcrumb. ( don’t make them too big)
  5. heat up oil, fry the pumpkin balls in the heated oil, flatten with the back of spatula to make it into pancake.
  6. Fry until it is golden brown on both sides

    Fried Pumpkin Cakes

    .

  7. Serve while it is hot and crunchy.
About mamaj

mom with two grown up girls, children pastor, avid knitter, coffee-lover, bear-collector. I love reading, hanging out with my girl friends and yes, I am owned by a golden lab, Jaden.

Leave a Reply

