pot roast Sunday

Standard

I like making pot roast on Sundays because I can pop the roast in the oven or in the slow cooker and take the afternoon off while supper is cooking.

I had made a pot roast before which is now the family’s favorite, and instead of reverting to the same one I ventured off to look for some new ideas, and I came across this  from allrecipes which calls for cranberry sauce.   This roast has a sweet tangy taste to it, and goes really great with plain white rice.   I will not put water in the next time, as there was enough liquid.  The recipe calls for three cup of beef broth and since I only had two cups I added half a cup of sherry instead and it really worked well with the cranberry sauce.

After I fried the roast on both sides, I used the oil to fry the red onion until they were soft, and brought out the aroma.  It really made the pot roast smelled good as it cooked.

I wanted to add carrots into the roast, but I forgot to buy them and  was too lazy to go back out again for them.  I like carrots in my pot roast, as they soak up all the goodness of the sauce.  I can imagine they will taste superb as they cook in cranberry and sherry.

Ingredients:
3 cups beef broth
1 cup water
2 (14.5 ounce) cans cranberry sauce
1 (4 pound) beef chuck roast
salt and ground black pepper to taste
3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 large sweet onion, chopped
Directions:
1. Bring the beef broth and water to a boil in a saucepan over high heat. Stir in the cranberry sauce until dissolved. Pour the sauce into a slow cooker set to High.
2. Meanwhile, season the beef roast with salt and pepper, then sprinkle evenly with the flour. Heat the vegetable oil in large skillet over medium heat. Cook the roast in the hot oil until brown on all sides, about 2 minutes per side. Transfer the roast to the slow cooker along with the chopped onion.
3. Cook until the roast easily pulls apart with a fork, about 4 hours.

For the salad, I made  warm butternut and chickpea, I love the Tahini sauce, it really complimented the butternut.  I did not realize that it took longer than 20 minutes to roast as called for in the recipe.  Dinner was late as we sat around and waited but it was worth it.

For dessert to night, I made the baked tapioca pudding I found on Christine’s recipes. I think the last time I attempted to make this was like years ago, and it did not turn out at all.  But this one works for me, and we really enjoyed it as we engaged ourselves in a friendly game of speed scrabble.

I just love Sunday dinners with my chickadees.

Leave a Reply

