spinach and bacon quiche

Standard

I am a Sunday cook, meaning I only enjoy cooking on Sundays.  I love to cook for a handful of people, and during the week I tend to get lazy especially when I don’t know what to make for two people.  On my way home tonight I was fretting what to make and  almost went and got take out instead.  Then I thought of quiche, which I have not made for long time.  I found this from allrecepies, and I am really glad that I have downloaded this app on to my phone, so I won’t  feel lost when I am shopping and deciding what to cook in the grocery stores.

This is a fast dish to cook, from preparation to cooking it took about less than an hour, and I love the fact that this recipe does not use cheese like most quiche.  It calls for three slices of bacon, and I am not sure how thick these slices are supposed to be, but the ones I have in the freezer are really thin, so I threw in six slices instead and still we could hardly taste bacon.

I did not take a picture of the inside of the quiche, but once you slice it you can see the layers of ingredients in it.  This is a good dish to make for a weeknight dinner, all you need is a green salad and you are set.

  • 10 ounces spinach, blanched, shocked, drained, and finely chopped or 10 ounces frozen spinach, thawed and drained
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 3 eggs, well beaten
  • 1 carrot, grated
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon dried dill
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 3 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled
  • 1 (9 inch) pastry crust, pre-cooked (use either Basic Pastry Crust Recipe #154001, or Bacon Pastry Crust Recipe #154002

Prep Time: 15 mins

Total Time: 55 mins

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Melt butter over low heat. Add flour and stir until smooth.
  3. Add milk and continue stirring.
  4. Slowly add eggs, then stir in the rest of the ingredients.
  5. Pour the mixture into the crust in a 9 inch pie pan.
  6. Bake for 40 minutes
About mamaj

mom with two grown up girls, children pastor, avid knitter, coffee-lover, bear-collector. I love reading, hanging out with my girl friends and yes, I am owned by a golden lab, Jaden.

Leave a Reply

