Rokomoko

Standard

so I dont take good pictures

yummy pattie

The name of this dish is musical, you say it out loud and it rolls off your tongue.  I love the meat patties, but I made a slight change, I made them in to  balls in the palm of my hands and then rolled them around in panko before frying them in the oil.  The cabbage slaw added a nice touch to the crunchy meat patties, but not being a big fan of the slaw, next time I will use Chines cabbage instead, they are a lot softer after been marinated in the seasonings, and I like the taste better.   I tried to make sunny side eggs, but unfortunately I goofed, and they turned out to be……well, fried eggs.

I  want to give a word of appreciation to Pig Pig’s corner, her recipes are always so interesting, of all the ones I have tried I have not found one that I did not like.  Thanks so much.

Rokomoko ロコモコ

By Pig Pig’s Corner

Prep time: 15 mins
Cook time: 25 mins
Yield: serves 2-3

Ingredients:
For pork patties:

  • 250 g minced pork
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp mirin
  • 2 tsp light soy sauce
  • 1/8 tsp white pepper powder
  • 1 large onion – diced
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup panko breadcrumbs

For home-made tonkatsu sauce:

  • 2 tbs tomato ketchup
  • 2 tbs Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tbs mirin

Other ingredients:

Directions:
For pork patties:

  • Heat up a bit of oil in a pan. Add onions and a pinch of salt. Fry until soft and translucent. Allow to cool and add this to minced pork.
  • Add all the other ingredients for pork patties. Mix to combine.
  • Form 3 large pork patties.
  • Pan fry on medium low heat with a bit of oil until browned all over and cooked through.

For home-made tonkatsu sauce:

  • Simply mix all ingredients.
  • Serve with pork patties all the other ingredients.
About mamaj

mom with two grown up girls, children pastor, avid knitter, coffee-lover, bear-collector. I love reading, hanging out with my girl friends and yes, I am owned by a golden lab, Jaden.

Leave a Reply

