Kohlrabi Salad

Standard

I never quite understand this vegetable…..it is not exactly attractive to start out with.  I have been taught by mother-in-law that it is good in soup, and so for years I made it that way, until we moved away from Regina.

While I was visiting my sister-in-law in Hong Kong a few weeks ago I tasted her version of Kohlrabi, and it was so yummy, I never thought highly of this vegetable until I tried her stirred fried.  It completely changed my impression of this weird looking thing.

I began to notice that the kohlrabi is gaining popularity these days, I have seen them in markets, and it was not until I read the “taste space” blog that I realized there are so many different ways of making this …..ummm….thing.

Last Sunday for our Easter dinner, besides the turkey, I made my own version of Kohrabi Salad, so here is my recipe, sorry….. I do not usually cook with precise measurements, so it is a handful of this, and a dash of that. 

Recipe:

1 kohlrabi, peeled and cut and sliced into slivers

1 carrot, peeled and julienned

1 cup of pea shoots

1 cup of steamed green soya beans

Dressing:

1/2 cup of Kirin

1/4 cup of tamarind sauce

2 cloves of chopped garlic

1/2 cup of rice vinegar

1-2 tsp of sesame oil

1 tsp of tahini sauce

whisk the above together, until well blended.

Put all ingredients together in a salad bowl, toss in the dressing and chill until ready to serve.

Leave a Reply

