pre-mother’s day dinner

Standard

The other mama Fong has been bugging me about wanting to try my cooking.  After all the pictures I have posted on Facebook, she told me she really wants me to cook for her.

Since she is leaving YVR soon, so I decided I will be a nice friend and invite her over on my not so busy day; which happened to be the night before Mother’s Day.  She is a fantastic cook herself even though she does not admit it, I had tasted her Singaporean dishes before and they were really good, so I decided it might be better to cook her something different than what she normally makes.

I tried out this new recipe I found on Taste Space, a chick pea salad with mango dressing just to compliment the rich chicken dish ( see the following post).  This is a good time to make mango as they are in season.  I love the fruity taste of the salad, it is a very light salad for the warmer weather. ( that is if we ever get warmed up!), so here is the recipe as found on Taste Space.

Chickpea Salad with Mexican Mango Dressing

1.5 cups dried chickpeas, soaked overnight (or 3 cups cooked, about 2x15oz cans)
2 cinnamon sticks

1 red bell pepper, chopped
3 carrots, chopped (I used yellow and purple heirloom carrots which made it very colourful)
1 cup baby spinach, thinly sliced
1/2 cup cilantro, chopped

1 large, ripe mango
1/4 cup freshly squeezed lime juice
2 large green onions, with tops
3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1/2 tsp fine sea salt
1/4 tsp Aleppo chili flakes, to taste, or your favourite chili
(if using canned beans, consider adding a touch of cinnamon)

sliced avocado, lime wedges, sprouts, pumpkin seeds, etc – for garnish (optional)

1. Drain chickpeas in a colander. Place chickpeas in a large stockpot with cinnamon sticks and cover with fresh water to at least 3 inches above beans. Bring beans to a boil on the stove, then turn down heat to maintain a gentle simmer. Cook, stirring occasionally, until beans are thoroughly cooked but not mushy, about one hour. Remove cinnamon sticks. Drain and set aside.

2. Peel mango and place in a blender with lime juice, green onions, olive oil, sat and chili flakes. Blend on high until uniform and creamy. Season to taste.

3. In a large bowl, pour dressing over garbanzo beans and let sit while you prepare the rest of the salad filling.

4. As you chop up the vegetables for the salad, add them as you go and stir to get an idea on how much more you need. Stop when the salad is well-dressed but not super gloopy.

5. Serve with sliced avocado and lime wedges on the side. Garnish with more cilantro, sprouts, pumpkin seeds, or whatever you have on hand.

About mamaj

mom with two grown up girls, children pastor, avid knitter, coffee-lover, bear-collector. I love reading, hanging out with my girl friends and yes, I am owned by a golden lab, Jaden.

3 responses »

    • Hi Saveur,
      I love your recipes, please keep them coming. I just have to find the occasions/excuses
      to try them, it is easier to cook for a crowd than just a few of us.

Leave a Reply

