Coconut-Brown Sugar Pork Ribs

Standard

It has been ages since I have Becky over for dinner.  She is a very good friend of Jemia’s, and when she was younger we had her over frequently even though she did not live so close to our house.

Now she is just down the hill from us, less than a couple of minutes driving, and I have been talking about inviting her over for so long that I started to feel bad about these empty promises.  So last night I finally got her over and not only we had some good time eating, she also did a quick assessment for me. It is such a blessing to know a physiotherapist personally, you never know when you need their professional advice.

Last night I wanted to make pork ribs, and once again ventured out of my recipe book and tried something new.  It took a bit of time to prep it, I had to steam it and marinated it over night .  It is not a lot of work, but just a little longer in preparation.  The result is totally worth the time.  I forgot to take a picture of the finished product, but nevertheless, it was very delicious.  ( As my daughter said, I am tooting my horn,)

Honestly I have to credit food.com for this wonderful recipe.  This is going to be my long time favorite.

Here is the recipe, taken from food.com

Ingredients

      • 2 1/2 lbs pork ribs ( baby back or country-style)

Marinade/Sauce

    • 1/2 cup canned unsweetened coconut milk
    • 4 tablespoons chopped cilantro
    • 4 tablespoons brown sugar
    • 2 large shallots, minced
    • 2 tablespoons soy sauce or 2 tablespoons tamari soy sauce
    • 2 cloves garlic, minced
    • 3/4 teaspoon allspice
    • 1/2 teaspoon salt ( or to taste)

Directions

  1. Place ribs in steamer rack; add two sliced garlic cloves to water below and steam ribs for 25 minutes.
  2. Let cool slightly.
  3. Combine marinade/sauce ingredients.
  4. Pour into an oblong baking dish, place ribs in dish, turn to coat thoroughly and marinate in refrigerator, covered, overnight.
  5. The next day, pour off marinade/sauce into a small saucepan.
  6. Preheat oven to 450 degrees F; cook ribs, uncovered, for 10 minutes per side.
  7. Reduce heat to 325 degrees F, cover ribs with foil, and return to oven for another 30 minutes or until meat is no longer pink inside (cook time depends on which type of ribs are used).
  8. Sprinkle with salt, if you wish.
  9. Alternatively, these ribs can be grilled (and are awesome).
  10. The extra marinade/sauce can be boiled for a minute or two and served on the side with the ribs.
About mamaj

mom with two grown up girls, children pastor, avid knitter, coffee-lover, bear-collector. I love reading, hanging out with my girl friends and yes, I am owned by a golden lab, Jaden.

Leave a Reply

