The Mystery of Tom Yum

Standard

I love Tom Yum, or to be exact the Tom Yum Goong soup.  I always wanted to make it at home, but for some reason I thought it takes a lot of spices.   I know there is the paste you can buy from grocery and all you need is to mix in water and  you will get the soup base.

I found this package the other day at the produce section, it is all the ingredients you need to make the soup base.  It is a lot simpler than I expected.  After I tried it, I can sure tell the difference, definitely it is lot better than the paste.

Here is the recipe, simply easy and delicious

2 cans of Chicken broth

3 stalks of lemon grass cut into inch lengths

5 red Thai chili peppers

1 piece of Galangal

4 kaffir lime leaves

3 cloves of garlic

1-2 tbsp of Thai chili paste

1 tsp of fish sauce

1 lb of shelled and deveined shrimps

3 sliced mushrooms

kaffir limes

chopped cilantro

Method

  • Bring chicken broth and 3 cups of water to boil, turn down to medium
  • Add crushed garlic, lemon grass, ginger, Galangal, fish sauce, and chili peppers, chili paste, ( adjust your taste with the chili paste)
  • simmer for 20-30 minutes
  • add shrimp, mushrooms, and cook until shrimps are done, do not overcook
  • stir in lime juice to the appropriate sourness
  • add cilantro before serving
About mamaj

mom with two grown up girls, children pastor, avid knitter, coffee-lover, bear-collector. I love reading, hanging out with my girl friends and yes, I am owned by a golden lab, Jaden.

Leave a Reply

