I can eat apples…only if they are cooked

Standard

Pork Chops with Apples and Sage

My list of allergies are growing longer by the year, and it all started off with Fuji apples.  I love these crunchy, juicy apples and could eat a whole one by myself, until one day I found out I am allergic to it.  My world came crashing down on me. Then I found out I can have them only if they are dried, or cooked.  Mind you I still like them fresh, but when you have allergies like mine, you will settle for a lesser quality or taste.

Enough about apples, I want to talk about pork chops now.  I love pork chops too ( come to think of it, I don’t have a lot of things I do not like).  My problem with making pork chops is I tend to make them too dry and they taste like cardboard.   In addition I am not very creative when it comes to making pork chops and tend to make the same one over.  The other day Ariella and I both had a day off so we went to the new Wal-Mart by PoCo, and I was pretty impressed by their grocery items.   I was told that their meat is quite good so I went and got some pork chops for the two of us.   I was about to use my old recipe  again to make them and then Ariella gave me some different ideas to try.  So she found this recipe for me from Jamie Oliver’s website.  Oh, did I mention that my 90-year-old mom loves his show? Well, she does, even though she does not speak a word of English, she thoroughly enjoys watching him.  Ok….back to the recipe, this is a very simple dish to make, even though mine did not turn out looking like his. I got to say the chops were done just the right way.  I never had it before, but the apples and sage really complimented each other.  Thank you Ariella for helping your mom find this delish recipe.  So here it is, right from Jamie’s website.

Ingredients:

• 4 x 250g pork chops, preferably free-range or organic
• sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
• olive oil
• 2 good eating apples (e.g• Cox or russet), unpeeled, cored and each cut into 8 wedges
• a knob of butter
• a handful of fresh sage leaves
• optional: 100g good strong cheese like Stilton or taleggio

Method:

Preheat the oven to 200ºC/400ºF/gas 6. What Jamie likes to do is to lay the pork chops out on a board and, using a sharp knife, make 2cm deep cuts all along the fatty side of them. You can ask your butcher to do this for you if you like. It helps to render the fat out and will also make the skin crispy. Sprinkle the chops with salt and pepper.

Pour a lug of olive oil into a hot pan. Carefully place your chops in it and cook them for 2 to 3 minutes on each side until golden brown. If you need to, open out the little pieces of fat along the edge so they don’t stick together.

When the chops are nearly done, lift them out of the pan and put them on to an oiled baking tray. Add the apple wedges and a knob of butter to the pan and fry until lightly golden. Lay 4 wedges of apple on top of each pork chop. Dress your sage leaves in a little olive oil and top each apple stack with them. Sometimes Jamie likes to top it all off with a knob of Stilton or taleggio. Put the baking tray into the oven for 4 to 6 minutes until everything is golden and melted.

My Note: I do not have Stilton or taleggio, so I put a knob of butter on top of the apples instead, still tasted good. Instead of using his recommended apples, I got the golden ones instead.

About mamaj

mom with two grown up girls, children pastor, avid knitter, coffee-lover, bear-collector. I love reading, hanging out with my girl friends and yes, I am owned by a golden lab, Jaden.

2 responses »

  1. I love your recipies! My fiance is also allergic to apples and we found out that its the pesticide that he is allergic too. Try eating an organic apple. He was taken back when he found out that he could eat apples again.

Leave a Reply

