Steamed Pork Ribs in Plum Bean Sauce

Standard

Ariella loves taro dishes, and I still have to learn to master the fine art of cooking taro without turning it into mush.  My mom is really good at it ( unfortunately she does not cook anymore), she always managed to cook them to the right consistency and they still hold their shape. 

I usually make taro in a stew, and thats when it usually turn too mushy for my taste.  So I tried something different, I steamed them instead and sure enough it worked better for me.  Taro goes well with pork ribs, and instead of using the black bean sauce, I decided to try something I don’t normally use, and that is the plum bean sauce.  You can get it in any Chinese groceries, just make sure you don’t get the plum sauce which is more tart, but this plum bean sauce has a totally different taste, it is saltier.

Here is my recipe, and once again I do not have the exact measurement, everything is sort of an estimation. 

Ingredients

1 lb of pork ribs, chopped into bite sizes

1/4 tsp of salt

dash of pepper

1 tbsp of low sodium soya sauce

1/2 tbsp of Chinese cooking wine

1 tbsp of plum bean sauce

1/2 of a taro root, sliced and cut 

2 tsp of chopped garlic

3 small red chili peppers ( sliced, and if you do not like the heat remove the seeds)

chopped green onions for garnish

Method:

  1. wash ribs and pat dry, marinade in salt and pepper, soya sauce, wine and plum bean sauce.  Let stand for about 30 minutes
  2. Get a steamer ready.
  3. Line a deep dish with taro in single layer
  4. put marinated pork ribs on top
  5. spoon chopped garlic on top of ribs, make sure it is spread evenly on the ribs
  6. add the sliced red peppers
  7. steam for about 30 minutes
  8. garnish with green onions and serve
About mamaj

mom with two grown up girls, children pastor, avid knitter, coffee-lover, bear-collector. I love reading, hanging out with my girl friends and yes, I am owned by a golden lab, Jaden.

Leave a Reply

