Brocoli Cheese and Wild Rice Casserole

Standard

I hit the jackpot when I got this recipe from Mabel L through the exchange.  She gave me this recipe years ago when she came over to our other house for potluck.  Unfortunately when I moved, I lost her recipe.  It was a lesson learned, that I should never leave scraps of paper lying around.  I guess it is one of the reasons why I started a food blog to help me remember and sort out my favorite recipes. 

Thanks Mabel for helping me reconnect with my old “friend”.

BROCOLI, CHEESE & WILD RICE CASSEROLE

 Ingredients:

  • 1 package of Uncle Ben’s Classic Long Grain & Wild rice OR Uncle Ben’s Fast & Fancy Fine Herb & Wild Rice (cheaper)
  • Broccoli, chopped
  • 2 – 10oz cans of Campbell’s Condensed Cream of Mushroom Soup
  • 1 can of sliced mushrooms
  • Cheddar cheese, shredded (1 cup?, more or less depending on how much you like)
  • Optional:  4 or 5 European wieners, sliced diagonally

 

Method:

    1. Make rice per package.
    2. Preheat oven at 350 degrees.
    3. In a pot of water, boil broccoli just before tender.  Scoop broccoli out and set aside.
    4. In the same pot of water, boil European wieners until cooked. Drain and set aside.
    5. In a pot, heat soup, mushrooms and a little bit of the cheddar cheese to blend flavours.
    6. Grease 2L rectangular casserole dish.
    7. Layer rice at the bottom, then spread out broccoli and European wieners on top of rice.
    8. Scoop soup/mushroom mixture on top of everything.
    9. Lastly, spread shredded cheese evenly over everything.
    10. Cover and heat in oven for 15 minutes until cheese melts. If your casserole dish does not have a cover, just loosely fold some tin foil to sit on top like a roof without touching the cheese (know what I mean?).
    11. Serves 3-4, or more if you’re serving something else beside it. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

