Thai Braised Pork Belly

Standard

I have not cooked any “real” food for a while, mainly because I was just too lazy.   It was a nice little vacation for me from the kitchen, but I can only have soup and congee for so long before they get too boring. 

Yesterday was Ariella’s first day back at work after a month’s R&R and to celebrate her special date I decided to treat her to some real food.  I made this yummy dish of braised pork belly.  Last time we had it was back in NYC at Momomfuku’s and we had shared a bowl of their famous pork belly ramen…..man, I could still taste it in my mouth it was so good !

This recipe is from my favorite food blog  Pig Pig’s corner .  I made the mistake of using  brown mushroom instead of shimjei and they did not compliment with the pork at all.  Next time I will skip it all together.  

Instead of serving it on rice I served it in a folded steam bun.  I found them at the frozen section in the Asian grocery store not too long ago and it is called the “Chinese hamburger buns”, I don’t know why they are named so but it tastes good and looks awesome.

So here is the recipe from Pig Pig’s corner:

Thai Style Braised Pork Belly

Prep time: 15 mins

Cook time: 1 1/2 hr

Yield: serves 4-5

Ingredients:

  • 850 g pork belly – cut into chunks
  • 200 g brown beech mushrooms/ shimeji (optional)
  • 1 inch ginger – sliced
  • 1/2 bulb garlic – peeled and crushed
  • 1/3 cup fresh coriander roots and stem – finely chopped
  • 40 g gula Melaka (palm sugar) – grated with a knife
  • 1/2 tbs white pepper powder
  • 2 tbs fish sauce
  • 1 tbs Cheong Chan Thick Dark Soy Sauce (Thick Caramel Sauce)(optional, for colouring purposes)
  • Water

Directions:

  • Heat up a bit of oil in a pot. Add ginger, garlic and coriander, stir-fry until fragrant.
  • Add pork, palm sugar*, pepper and dark soy sauce. Stir to coat.
  • Pour in enough water to cover all the ingredients, bring to boil then lower heat to simmer for about 1-1/2 hrs or until pork is tender and sauce is reduced.
  • Add mushrooms and leave to simmer for a few mins or until the mushrooms are cooked.
  • Season to taste.

Note:

*This dish is on the sweet side, so use less if you prefer it to be less sweet. You can always add more later to taste.

Source: pigpigscorner.com

About mamaj

mom with two grown up girls, children pastor, avid knitter, coffee-lover, bear-collector. I love reading, hanging out with my girl friends and yes, I am owned by a golden lab, Jaden.

Leave a Reply

