Bitter Gourd Stir-Fry with 3 Kinds Of Eggs

Standard

As in my last posting, I am always looking for different ways to cook bitter gourd, so I was very excited to find another recipe in Pig Pig’s corner.  I remember having bitter gourd with salted egg yolk in Singapore two years ago when I was traveling there, and I had tried to reproduce the dish at home ( without success!)  I think one of the reasons was I had  “bad” salted eggs, and the dish turned out nothing but delicious.  The best kind of salted eggs is the home made kind, but I just do not have time or the patience to make them.  

The three different types of eggs did add an interesting texture and taste to this vegetable.  I like my gourd crunchy so I had fried it till it turned a slightly darker shade of green and then added the eggs.  If you want them softer, do cook it a little longer.   As for the eggs, I realized afterwards that I should have steamed the salted egg yolks first as it will bring out the taste and the texture and it makes cooking  easier.  I had to make sure the salted egg yolks were done and the same time the regular eggs got over cooked a bit.   

I like this dish, it is economical and quick to make.  The colors are amazing too.  Good way to get your family to ‘acquire” the taste of bitter gourd.

 

 

 

Adapted from Elinluv’s recipe

By Pig Pig’s Corner

Prep time: 10 mins

Cook time: 10 mins

Yield: serves 2-3

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium sized bitter gourd – seeds and white spongy stuff removed, thinly sliced
  • 1 salted egg – cut into small bite-sized pieces
  • 1 century egg – cut into small bite-sized pieces
  • 2 eggs
  • A dash of white pepper powder
  • 2 tbs oil
  • 4 cloves garlic – finely chopped/pressed
  • Salt to taste

Directions:

  • Whisk together all the eggs and a bit of white pepper powder.
  • Heat up oil in a pan.
  • Add garlic, saute until fragrant.
  • Add bitter gourd slices and stir-fry until soft.
  • Pour in egg mixture, leave to cook on high heat for a few mins.
  • Break up the egg and stir-fry until eggs are set.
  • Add salt to taste if necessary.

http://www.pigpigscorner.com/2011/10/bitter-gourd-stir-fry-with-3-kinds-of.html

Leave a Reply

