Lemon Squares

Standard

I have a new addiction, and it is Pinterest. This site has all sorts of ideas for DIY projects, recipes, home decorating ideas….it is like your own filing system which you can share with other people. 

My daughter introduced me to this site a while ago and now I am addicted to it, and not only that I have  introduced it to couple of my crafty friends.  Now they don’t know if they should thank me or kill me.

I came across this recipe yesterday on my day off and what attracted me is that it only takes two ingredients.  My kind of cooking !!   It is called lemon squares, but I say it is more like a cake than a square which is more dense in texture. 

The recipe is so simple it is insane !! All you need is one box of angel food cake mix, a can of lemon pie filling.  You mix the two together in a mixing bowl, and then spread it in a 9×13 cake pan, and bake it at 350 for 20 minutes.  Cool and dust it with icing sugar.  Thats all !!  It tastes pretty good, not as delicious as the ones you make from scratch.  But if you need a quick dessert to take to a pot luck, or when someone is dropping by for coffee, this is absolutely fabulous.  

The only problem with me was that I could find canned lemon pie filling !  They have everything in the store except lemon pie.  So I got a little creative ( yes, just a little), and bought a box of instant pie mix and made it as per instruction, and  let it cool off before I mixed it with the cake mix.

You can pretty much subsitute it with any pie filling, it will work.

About mamaj

mom with two grown up girls, children pastor, avid knitter, coffee-lover, bear-collector. I love reading, hanging out with my girl friends and yes, I am owned by a golden lab, Jaden.

Leave a Reply

