Japenese Enoki Beef Rolls

Standard

I saw this dish once at a fancy Chinese restaurant and it charged an arm and a leg which I thought was way too much.  And when I saw this on Christine’s website I realized it is really easy to make.  The most important part is finding the right kind of beef.

In her recipe she did not specify the kind of cut, so I ventured out to the grocery and tried to figure out what is the best cut to buy.  I finally settled on  sirloin beef slices which are sold in packages in the freezer section.  They are cut thinly for hot pot purposes. 

The beef slices are very thin and they don’t take long to defrost.  In the recipe she used two beef slices per roll, and I chinzed on that.  The beef slices are not cheap, for a package of 200 grams it already cost me about 8 dollars.  So I just used one slice of beef per roll.  As they are so thin, it is really hard to roll them up when they are totally thawed.  I had it sitting out on the counter for about 30 minutes while I went out for a walk with the dog, and by the time I came back they were thawed out enough to handle ( even though it was still half frozen).

The preparation was very easy, it did not take long at all.  The cooking part took less than 5 minutes. This dish is best served hot.

I love the simplicity of it, just mirin and soya sauce and if you get the right kind of beef it will just enchance the flavor of the meat.  I also love the spongyness of the enoki mushroom which provided a contrast in texture.   This is an effortless dish to make, but it is absolutely indulgence for your family and guests. 

Thanks Christine for making this so simple !!

Here is the recipe as found in Christines Recipes. com

Ingreidents :

  • 20 thin slices (about 100 gm) beef fillet
  • 120 gm enoki mushrooms

Ingredients for sauce:

  • 2 Tbsp Japanese cooking wine
  • 2½ Tbsp light soy sauce
  • 2½ Tbsp mirin
  • 1 Tbsp sugar

Method:

  • Trim away the roots of the mushrooms and remove any dirts. Rinse and wipe dry with kitchen pappers. Divide them into 10 equal portions.
  • Roll and wrap each portion of the mushrooms with 2 slices of beef.
  • Heat up some oil in a non-stick frying pan over medium heat. Place the beef rolls into the pan in a single layer with seams facing down. Pan fry for about 1 minute. Carefully turn to another side. Pour in the seasonings. Increase heat to high and cook until the mushrooms become soft. Serve immediately.
About mamaj

mom with two grown up girls, children pastor, avid knitter, coffee-lover, bear-collector. I love reading, hanging out with my girl friends and yes, I am owned by a golden lab, Jaden.

Leave a Reply

