Eggs and Bacon Bake

Standard

 

It has been a while since I updated this blog.  I have been trying out different recipes with delightful results.   It was only when I look at the food pictures I have taken that I realized how much I have fallen behind on my posting.

This Egg and Bacon Bake was what we had for Christmas brunch.  It was a delightful and relaxing morning and we all slept in a little later than usual.  The newly-wed chickadees came home and spent a couple days of their vacation with their old mom.   To commemorate our first Christmas together with our newest addition, I had an ornament made just for the occassion.  We had a full house  for that couple of days because we had not one but three doggies.  Over all they were quite well behaved, no doggie fights, just one accident which was taken care right away and I have fallen in love with our guest, a border coollie by the name of Luau.  She is a real sweetie.

Back to the eggs, I had wanted an easy but hearty brunch without the hassle and I was inspired to make this by something similar I found on Pinterest.  ( If you still have not discovery this site, you need to go on it !) This is so easy and yummy, and the kids were really surprised by how simple the recipe is.

Ingredients ( for four people):

One box of puff pastry, slightly thawed.

8 slices of bacon

8 eggs

whole grained dijon mustard

1/2 to 1 cup of shredded cheese.

Method:

( you can use one large baking dish, or individul ones, it works better if you make them individually so you can adjust to the individual preference of the eggs)

1. Thaw puff pastry so it can be easily roll out.

2. Preheat oven to 375,  line baking sheet with parchment paper, put bacon slices on.  Bake in oven until the bacon turn slighty brown.  Drain.

3. Cover baking dish with puff pastry, make sure you have enough dough to roll the sides in.  

4. spread the bottom of the pastry with whole grained mustard, and sprinkle cheese on it.

5. Line the bacon on top of mixture, break eggs, put them in between the bacon slices.

6. roll the edges of the puff pastry inward to form a nice little “nest”.

7. bake until the pastry is brown on the edges, a little longer if you want the eggs to be well done.

8. serve immediately.

About mamaj

mom with two grown up girls, children pastor, avid knitter, coffee-lover, bear-collector. I love reading, hanging out with my girl friends and yes, I am owned by a golden lab, Jaden.

One response »

Leave a Reply

