kale…chips?

Standard

I never heard of kale chips until Emily told me about it.  I was quite excited about learning something “new”, only to find out from my in-house-foodie that kale chips have been around for a while (???) It just goes to show how out dated I am.

Apparently kale chips are all over the blogosphere these days, and in order to catch up with the times I decided the other night to give it a try.  A new recipe is all I need to brighten up my already very dreary and weary week. 

Kale is on sale this week at our local grocery, I guess it must be very popular because by the time I got there, they were all out.  The nice man from the produce department went to the back to see if they have some stashed in storage or if they are going to get some more.  The answer unfortunately was negative.  I told him that I really wanted to try making kale chips, and I would only need about two bunches of it, and since I noticed that there were a handful scattered around in the bin, I wonder if he would give them to me at a discount price.  The lesson I learned then is never to be afraid to ask, because he just said, ” I will give them to you free !”  I think that alone made my day!

It turned out the bag full  of loose kale leaves I got  were more than I needed.  There were some wilted ones, but I managed to get 8 full cups of healthy kale leaves.  I can totally see why some people are addicted to these kale chips, they do taste really good even though I had overcooked them.  ( I tried to make them crispy) Even my food critic said so. 

I am keeping this recipe even though I need to find ways to make it crisper, this is a healthier snacks, and a good way to get the kids to eat their vegetables.  My next attempt is to get them a little more crispy than my first try.  Any ways, I had fun making it, even the dog liked the scraps I accidentally dropped on the floor.  ( Mind you, he will eat anything except lettuce and orange peels)

So here is the recipe I used, from the hungry artist:

Peanut Butter and Miso Glazed Kale Chips

1 tablespoon peanut butter

1 teaspoon miso paste

1 teaspoon soy sauce

1 teaspoon mirin (or rice wine vinegar if you don’t have it)

1 teaspoon sugar

2 teaspoons water

8 cups of kale leaves torn into chip size pieces

non-stick spray

1.  Preheat oven to 200 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment or foil.  Set aside.

2.  In a large bowl whisk together peanut butter, miso paste, soy sauce, mirin, and sugar with a whisk.  Add water and whisk until smooth.

3.  Throw in kale leaves and coat and massage with clean hands to get the sauce on all of the leaves.  Spread leaves in one layer on lined baking sheet.

4.  Bake for one hour.  Halfway through baking, stir the leaves and turn over.

2 responses »

  1. Yay! You tried it out :)…that’s certainly a different recipe than what I use…I wonder if the water makes it less crispy!

    I find the two keys to success is:
    1. No moisture (so I use a salad spinner and paper towel to sop up any dampness from the leaves)
    2. Low heat (ie. don’t burn it so it’s not bitter)

    Though, I guess by using low heat, any existing moisture would be evaporated. But, sounds like a success anyway, since you two munched it up in no time!

  2. This looks quite yummy. I’ve only tried it with salt and pepper. I’ll try this recipe out next time. Winston also likes kale chips…I dropped a few on a ground and he crunched them up before I can even get a chance to clean up!

Leave a Reply

