Creme Caramel—a little sunshine to chase the clouds away

Standard

It has been raining like crazy around here.  I guess this is typical West Coast winter and I should be used to it by now.  But the rain is finally too much for me, I think I have come down with a case of cabin fever !  I heard that some people can get so depressed by the rain/lack of sun that they go into depression.  A friend of mine actually has that  and she has to go away for a prolonged period.  I called this the ” rich man’s sickness”, you have to be rich in order to afford time off and also have your own property in a sunny warm place.  My late husband’s boss has this place in Hawaii where he retreats with his wife for 6 weeks during the winter months…..ahhh, the lifestyle of the rich.

So what do you do when you cannot afford the sun…..you bring the sun to you !  That’s what Creme Caramel does to me, it reminds me a big orange sun and it makes me smile.    I had been scare to attempt this recipe, for some reason I had the impression that it is something really challenging.  But the other day while I was brewing in the moisture around me, I came across this recipe from Christine’s website, and as I read her blog, it did not seem too difficult.  I figured that a new challenge is what I need to get me out of this weather, so with all the ingredients I needed and a good amount of determination I set off to a face off with this new recipe.

I have to say, it is surprising easy, the only thing is I have to watch the pot like a hawk while making my caramel.   I guess my past experience and many burnt pots have taught me the importance of this.  I am very pleased with the end result, even though I realized my oven really need a replacement—( something to think about for the near future).

So here is the recipe from Christine’s, thanks for making this easy for me to follow: 

Creme caramel By Christine’s Recipes
Prep time: 20 mins
Cook time: 20 mins
Yield: 4x150ml-capacity ramekins

Ingredients:

  • 160 ml whipping cream
  • 160 ml milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 lemon zest (only the yellow part), each about 0.5cmx5cm in size, optional
  • 2 whole eggs
  • 1 egg yolks
  • 50 gm caster sugar
  • hot water

Caramel:

  • 100 gm caster sugar
  • 50 ml water

Method:

  • Prepare a large baking tray: Line a piece of tea towel. (Note: it helps secure the ramekins.) Place 4 ramekins in the tray. Set aside.
  • To make caramel: put water, followed by sugar in a small saucepan over low heat. Lightly swirl the saucepan to help combine the water and sugar. Continue to cook until the sugar dissolves. Once it boils, no stirring, and continue to cook until golden-brown. Pour into 4 individual 150ml-capacity ramekins, turning ramekins to coat the bottom and sides.
  • Preheat oven to 160C/320F.
  • Whisk the whole egg, egg yolks, sugar and vanilla extract. Set aside.
  • Warm the cream and milk in a small saucepan. Add lemon zest if you like. When it almost boils but not yet, remove from the heat. Rest for about 3 minutes. Stir into the egg mixture. Strain and pour into the prepared ramekins. Fill the large baking tray with hot water (not boiling) and baked in the preheated oven for about 20 to 25 minutes, or until the custard is set.
  • Remove from oven. Let it cool completely. Cover and chill in fridge for at least 3 hours, or overnight.
  • Run a knife around the edge of the custard to unmould onto serving plates, served with fresh fruits.

Read more: http://en.christinesrecipes.com/2012/02/creme-caramel-valentines-day-dessert.html#ixzz1n80jMTGH

PS: Caster sugar is super fine sugar here in Canada, you can find it in the baking section of all groceries. 

To help me to get the custard out of the ramekins, I let them sit in a bath of hot water for a couple of minutes after I ran the knife around the containers, they slide off easily.

About mamaj

mom with two grown up girls, children pastor, avid knitter, coffee-lover, bear-collector. I love reading, hanging out with my girl friends and yes, I am owned by a golden lab, Jaden.

Leave a Reply

