Korean Beef Short Ribs Stew

Standard

I made this dish ( again) last night for all my chickadees.  I love it when I cook for them, at this point in our busy lives, to get to eat together is a real treat and it is a blessing that I am very thankful for.

I have been suffering from allergies  for a while and  have not been updating my food blog,  my taste buds at one time were gone, eating became more a necessity than enjoyment.  But fortunately the palette is coming back slowly and I actually can taste and adjust my cooking.

We were very quiet for most of our dinner, all I could hear is “mmmm…..so good…..mmm…” the memory of it brought a smile to my face.  ( Even though at this point I am feeling really annoyed and anxious about that stupid racoon which came back to the attic again early this morning)

Here is the recipe I found from Allrecipes, I downloaded the app on my iphone, and it became a source of entertainment for me while waiting around. ( And it is free!)

Ingredients

  • 2 pounds Korean-style short ribs (beef chuck flanken), cut into 3-inch segments
  • 4 cups water
  • 6 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 8 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 small onion, sliced
  • 1 tablespoon rice wine
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 2 carrots, cut into chunks
  • 2 small potatoes, cut into chunks
  • 1/2 cup fresh shiitake mushrooms, sliced
  • 2 tablespoons light corn syrup
  • 1 tablespoon Asian (toasted) sesame oil
  • 6 chestnuts, peeled (optional)
  • 6 dates, pitted (optional)
  • sliced green onions
  1. Cover the ribs with cold water, refrigerate, and soak for 1 hour. Drain the ribs, place in a saucepan with 4 cups of water, and bring to a boil. Cook the ribs for 10 minutes, drain, and reserve 2 cups of liquid. Place the ribs and the reserved liquid in a large pot.
  2. Mix together the soy sauce, garlic, onion, rice wine, and brown sugar in a bowl until the sugar has dissolved. Pour the mixture over the ribs and broth. Stir to combine, bring to a boil, reduce the heat, and simmer for 1 1/2 hours.
  3. Mix in the carrots, potatoes, shiitake mushrooms, corn syrup, sesame oil, chestnuts, and dates, and simmer until the meat and vegetables are very tender, about 1 more hour.
  4. Remove the beef and vegetables to a serving dish, and reduce the liquid in the pot to make a thickened gravy. Pour the sauce over the ribs and vegetables, sprinkle with sliced green onion, and serve.

My notes:

I did not use chestnuts as I do not like the taste of the canned ones.  But the red dates are a must, I have tasted a lot of Korean stew and the red dates do make a very lovely addition.  You can get them at the dried food section in most Asian food stores.

About mamaj

mom with two grown up girls, children pastor, avid knitter, coffee-lover, bear-collector. I love reading, hanging out with my girl friends and yes, I am owned by a golden lab, Jaden.

Leave a Reply

