Omurice

Standard

I don’t know which is funnier, the dog sitting on the counter next to the cook, or the voice narrating at the background.  Either way I was laughing hilariously as I watched the video, but I don’t think it was meant to be funny??  I could not help but think of what will happen if I put Jaden or Winston next to the stove while I am cooking.  I don’t think either of them will sit there impressively.  Jaden for sure with try to gobble up whatever he can get hold of, and he will be shedding his fur all over the food. Winston will be running around the counter looking for food scraps and finding a nice warm spot to nap.   Talking about which….hmmm….is it hygienic to cook with a dog sitting next to you??

I was tempted to try this dish out a while ago after I saw someone posted a picture of this on his Facebook.   I finally had the energy to do so last night, and even though the finish product is not as attractive as the one in the video, nevertheless it was quite tasty.

I did some changes in the recipe, because my frying pan is about twice the size of the one used in the video.  Secondly I tend to cook in a big volume, I guess I still have not fine tune it to cooking for two.  The problem with a big pan like mine is it is too heavy for me to flip the eggs like the cute Japanese lady in the video. The egg ended up a tad too long on the pan and it was a little over cooked. 

I found a similar recipe on Christine’s recipes and I improvised a bit with what I had on hand, and instead of using chicken I used prawns instead.

So this is my recipe, as inspired by the video and Christine’s blog:

  • 1/2 pound peeled and deveined prawns
  • 1 scallion diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, diced
  • 4 white mushrooms, sliced to a quarter inch
  • 1 Tbsp Japanese white rice wine
  • 1 can chopped tomato, 400 gm
  • 2 Tbsp tomato ketchup
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/2 cup of frozen green peas
  • 2 1/2 rice bowls of rice, cooked with less water

Ingredients of fried eggs:

  • 6 eggs
  • 2 tsp of whipping cream
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  1. Put frozen green peas in boiling water and drain well. Season with salt. Set aside.
  2. Heat oil in frying pan over medium heat. Add scallots and garlic  and cook until translucent. Add sliced mushroom cook until soft. 
  3.  Add tomato, ketchup, bay leaf, and cook until sauce reduces and thickens, uncovered. Season with salt and pepper to taste.  Add green peas and prawns cook briefly. Discard the bay leaf. Add rice, separate them and mix well with sauce. Put aside for later use.
  4. Beat eggs with cream and salt. Heat oil in a non-stick frying pan (skillet). Pour the egg mixture in pan , quickly stir the egg with chopsticks. Immediately, spread the egg and make a round omelet by moving the pan around. When the egg is 90% cooked, remove from heat. Place rice mixture in the middle of the omelet. Fold top and bottom sides of omelet over the rice. Tilt the pan and let the omurice slide to the side of the pan. Hold a plate next to the side of pan. Quickly turn the omurice over to the plate. Drizzle some ketchup on top of omurice before serving.

Here is my finished product, not too appealing, but it tasted delish.  Next time I will have to use a smaller fan, and maybe do the eggs in batches. I rather have several smaller omeletes than one big one.  It will be easier to handle. 

About mamaj

mom with two grown up girls, children pastor, avid knitter, coffee-lover, bear-collector. I love reading, hanging out with my girl friends and yes, I am owned by a golden lab, Jaden.

Leave a Reply

