Pork Filet with Ginger Honey Sauce

Standard

I was going through my camera this morning and found a picture of this grilled pork dish taken a couple months ago.  Somehow I had forgotten to post it after I’d made it.  I remember the reason why I made this was because of the grill pan, yes all because of the pan.


I bought the pan over a year ago when we went on one of those random trips to the state.  I bought it for none other that it was so much cheaper than here in Canada.  Last week on the news there was a story about this man who shops for  grocery  every week across the border, he said that the  drive is totally worth it as he saves about 300 dollars a month on food.  I can see his reason, if you have a big growing family and is counting the pennies, $300 dollar is a good enough reason for one to make an hour drive over the border weekly.  It is sad  when you think of how much more we are paying here in Canada


So back to my grill pan, as I mentioned  I bought it a while ago and it just sits in my cupboard only to make an appearance once a while when I have steak for dinner.  I love steak but I don’t make it often enough.  It does seem a little unnecessary to have a grill pan taking up my limited space.


When I read this recipe on Christine’s website, I was quite excited because it was another chance for me to use the pan, might as well get some use out of it.


I recall this was a success, and we really loved the sauce.  It was light enough that the pork did not get over power by the seasonings.  Most of all it was easy to make.


Here is the recipe, unfortunately I could only find it on her Chinese blog, so I am trying my best to translate it properly.


Prep time: 10 minutes


cooking time: 20 minutes


To serve 3-4


Ingredients:



  • 200 gr of Pork Tenderloin

  • 4 Tbsp of chicken stock

  • 1 Tsp of honey

  • 2 tsp lemon juice

Marinade:


  • 3 tsp ginger juice

  • 2 tsp mirin

  • 2 1/2 tsp of light soya sauce

  • 1 tsp rice wine

Method:



  1. Wash and pat dry pork, marinade for about 30 minutes.  If possible leave pork in fridge for a couple of hours to give the meat more flavor.

  2. Heat grill pan, add little oil to coat pan.  Put seasoned pork on the pan, save the marinade for later use.  Careful to place pork on the hot pan to get the nice grill marks on both sides. Cover the meat and cook in medium heat till done, about 10-12 minutes. ( pending on the thickness of the tenderloin)

  3. Take pork out from the pan and let it rest for about 5 minutes.  Then slice to serving sizes.

  4. At the same time, prepare sauce. Pour the marinade and chicken stock into the grill pan, scrape off the brown bits from  the pan and mix well with the liquid. Cook it on high until it bubbles and then lower heat, cook till liquid evaporated to half .  Add honey and lemon juice to taste.

  5. Pour half of the sauce over pork slices, and serve the rest in a sauce bowl .

  6. Note: you can brown the pork on both sides to get the nice grill marks, to make sure the pork cook properly you can pop it in an preheated oven at 325 F for twenty minutes

About mamaj

mom with two grown up girls, children pastor, avid knitter, coffee-lover, bear-collector. I love reading, hanging out with my girl friends and yes, I am owned by a golden lab, Jaden.

Leave a Reply

