Curried Beans and Quinoa

Standard

I was away most of July, and when I got home I found that my interest for trying out new recipes have waned. I have gotten fat and lazy from vacation ! Oh, I do have a list of good sounding excuses: it is too hot to cook; I am still jet-lagged; the family’s social life is too busy….( wink, wink) I am sure you got my drift.

I have been telling myself to eat healthier, at one point I had alluded myself to think that eating less for weight loss is the same as eating healthy 😦 I have tried many weight-loss diets, only to regain those lost pounds gradually as I got off these “starvation” diets. I have learned eventually a healthy eating habit and a regular excercise routine are the two most important factors in maintaining a healthy weight. So, I am back on my mission again : to eat healthy and to hit the gym more than once a week !

Last night was a cooler evening and I found my motivation back to try out something new. Came across this and found the ingredients very tempting. This is super easy to make, the only time-consuming step is making the quinoa. The result is a colorful dish which really tempt the palate. I love this, and yes, I felt healthier even as I write about it now.

Here is the recipe I found on Taste Space:

Curried Beans and Quinoa with Baby Bok Choy
Adapted from Fat Free Vegan

1/2 cup dry quinoa, rinsed well
1 tsp oil of choice
3 shallots, chopped, or 1 medium onion, chopped
3 cloves of garlic, minced
1 tbsp minced gingerroot
1.5 tsp good curry powder, or to taste
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes, optional
15 oz canned diced tomatoes, undrained
1.5 cups cooked red kidney beans (or beans of choice, chickpeas are good, too), rinsed and drained if canned
6 baby bok choy, leaves separated, chopped

1. If you do not have 1 cup of cooked quinoa, begin by bringing 3/4 cup of water (or vegetable broth) to a boil). Add rinsed quinoa, simmer for 15-20 minutes, until all the water is absorbed, then allow to sit, with lid on, for an additional 5 minutes.

2. Meanwhile, head a large skillet with the oil up to medium-high. When hot, add the shallot (or onion), sprinkle with salt and cook until the onions soften, around 5 minutes. Add the garlic and ginger, stir and saute for another minute. Add the curry powder and chile flakes (if using) and allow to toast for 15 seconds until fragrant.

3. Deglaze the pan with the undrained canned tomatoes and add the beans. Add your cooked quinoa when it is ready. Reduce heat to low and allow to simmer for 5 minutes.

4. Meanwhile, clean and chop your baby bok choy. Separate the leaves from the stems. Slice the stems cross-wise, into thin slivers. Add to the curry after 5 minutes of simmering. Thinly slice the baby bok choy leaves and add them in after another 3 minutes. Stir and allow the heat to wilt the greens. Season to taste

http://tastespace.wordpress.com/2012/07/29/curried-beans-and-quinoa-with-baby-bok-choy/#more-11938

20120809-223201.jpg

Leave a Reply

