Grilled Mini Chicken Sticks With Sweet and Spicy Shrimp Glaze

Standard

Rarely do I come across recipes which ask for shrimp paste. I recall having shrimp paste at one of my friend’s dinner table as a condiment. I soon realize it is not something you can get off the shelf here easily, after looking of the “paste” at a couple of my regular Asian markets, I finally resorted to using shrimp sauce which is a very common seasoning in Chinese cooking.

I soon discover why the paste ( solid) is used, when I marinated the chicken as per the recipe, the smell of the sauce really turned me off. Mind you, I never quite like the smell of shrimp sauce, and I never used it in my own cooking. After I marinated the chicken, I was unsure whether I would like it at all. The shrimp paste definitely does not smell as strong.

I found this recipe from a magazine, and apparently “chicken sticks” are trending these days in Chinese cooking, basically it is cutting the mid section of chicken wings in half so they look like sticks, they cook faster and will carry the marinate better.

Here is the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 10 Mid section of chicken wings
  • 6 cloves of chopped garlic
  • 2 tsp of shrimp paste
  • 1 lemon
  • 1 Tbsp Ok sauce
  • 1 tsp chili sauce
  • 2 tsp of sugar
  • 1 tsp cornstarch
  • dash of salt and pepper

Method:

  • Wash and pat dry chicken wings
  • split the wings lengthwise from the middle part with knife
  • In a big bowl, mash shrimp paste ( solid) with fork, mix in 2 tsp of lemon zest, 1 tbsp of lemon juice, garlic and rest of seasoning
  • add in chicken wings and mix well, marinate for at least 30 mins
  • preheat oven to 390
  • line baking pan with foil, and slightly greased
  • place drained chicken wings on tray in one single layer and bake for 12 -15 mins until golden.
  • serve immediatelyNote: Ok sauce is popular in Asia, I have trouble finding it here, so I substituted with steak sauce instead. This is a good appetizer, excellent finger food.

20120702-014638.jpg

About mamaj

mom with two grown up girls, children pastor, avid knitter, coffee-lover, bear-collector. I love reading, hanging out with my girl friends and yes, I am owned by a golden lab, Jaden.

One response »

  1. We have a jar of shrimp sauce (蝦 醬) in the fridge that my mom must have used for something that tasted good (通菜) and left behind. I tried to use it on chicken once, and I think I decided that it was way too fishy smelling for my liking (and salty). I haven’t really found another use for it…and maybe that’s okay…but if you do find a fantastic use for it, let us know 🙂

Leave a Reply

