home-made chicken broth

Standard

On my day off this week, I had treated myself to a nice leisurely lunch at Burgos’ on Main St. I was a little bit of a dare-devil and tried out their seasonal sandwich which was shaved lamb and their summer soup which was a nice Moroccan one with chunks of roasted chicken.

Ariella took a taste of the soup and her face said it all. It inspired the adventure spirit in her and she wanted to make it one night for supper. Normally I would use canned chicken broth, but I felt that the taste of it really does not do justice to a good home-made Moroccan soup. So I told her ( out of a whim?) that I would make my own chicken broth for her.

The day after I went and bought all the ingredients according to this recipe I found on Christine’s website. But the enthusiasm disappeared over night. All I could say I was just too lazy to watch a simmering pot of soup for three hours when all I wanted to do is to go out and enjoy the last of summer in the evenings.

Things have a way of working out in my life, the other night I had no “choice” but to stay in. As I came home in the early evening, I discovered that the garage door was broken. I called up the repair man and he was nice enough to assure me he would come the same night. He sort of promised me that he would show up before seven. As in all repairs go, I had to wait most of the evening when he did finally show up close to nine. Since I had to stay home and wait I figured it would be the ideal time to make my chicken broth. The long wait actually worked out to my benefit.

I did tweak the recipe a bit, I doubled the amount of chicken bones as called for and the broth turned out to be more condensed than her picture. It tasted better than the canned ones that I am used to. Last night we made use of the broth to make our Moroccan soup, and I have to admit that it is definitely worth that extra step. I am planning to make a large batch of broth soon and freeze them, it certainly make a big difference in the taste.

So here is the recipe from Christine’s site, very simple even though it takes a little bit of cooking time.

Prep time: 15 mins

Cook time: 3 hrs

Yield: makes about 2 liters

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 kg chicken bones
  • 3 liters water
  • 1 to 2 carrots
  • 1 onion
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 2 sprigs thyme, optional

Method:

  1. Rinse the chicken bones. Chop into smaller pieces if necessary. Blanch in boiling water to remove blood and impurities, for about 3 minutes. Drain up the bones. Set aside.
  2. Put the chicken bones, water and all other ingredients into a large deep pot. Cook over high heat. Bring it to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for about 3 hours, until about 2 liters of water left in the pot. Strain the stock through a fine sieve placed over a large bowl. Don’t press on the vegetables when straining. The soup won’t be clear otherwise. Let it cool down. Refrigerate and the fat will solidify on top of the stock, that can be easily removed with a spoon. The stock can be stored in an air-tight container in fridge for up to a week.
Source: Homemade Chicken Stock [Christine’s Recipes]
About mamaj

mom with two grown up girls, children pastor, avid knitter, coffee-lover, bear-collector. I love reading, hanging out with my girl friends and yes, I am owned by a golden lab, Jaden.

Leave a Reply

