Loaded Baked Potato Dip

Standard

This past weekend was the Canadian Thanksgiving weekend.  I got invited to a dinner party at a coworker’s home and was told not to bring anything.  But I have been taught by my dear mom that a Chinese always bring something to the hostess as a sign of appreciation and courtesy.   So instead of the usual  flowers, chocolate or wine  I brought an appetizer.

When I first saw this recipe on Pinterest I wanted to make it as it looks really delicious.  The thing with Pinterest is when you like a particular picture all you have to do is click on it and you will be able to see the site it came from. But in this case it did not work, I clicked on the picture and it led me to this website without the actual recipe.  I was a little put off by this inconvenience, but fortunately I was able to find it in another website when I googled it.  Pinterest is a good place for finding ideas but sometimes it does not work the way it should.

So I have digressed, back to the dip : this is what I called a killer dip, not only it tastes good, but when you look at the ingredients you will find that it is not exactly what the heart and stroke foundation will approve.  It is definitely something you want to share with a lot of people, other wise you will have to hit the jogging trail extra hard to burn off the calories!

Loaded Baked Potato Dip

Yield: About 4 cups

Prep Time: 10 minutes

16 ounces sour cream
16 slices (12-ounce package) bacon, cooked and crumbled
8 ounces sharp cheddar cheese, shredded (about 2 cups)
1/3 cup thinly sliced scallions or chives

Combine all ingredients in a medium bowl and refrigerate for at least one hour before serving to allow flavors to meld together. Garnish with extra shredded cheese, crumbled bacon, and chopped chives. Serve with your favorite potato chips or pretzel crisps. Dip can be stored in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to 1 week.

(Recipe adapted from MyRecipes.com)

About mamaj

mom with two grown up girls, children pastor, avid knitter, coffee-lover, bear-collector. I love reading, hanging out with my girl friends and yes, I am owned by a golden lab, Jaden.

Leave a Reply

