Yum Yum Wings

Standard

One of my chickadees has this on going love affair with fried chicken. He is a real trooper, and I have to say that you really do know a person’s character by his/her eating habits. He ordered fried chicken wings when we dined at this Vietnamese place two weeks ago, and even though they were not very good, he ate all of them without one word of complaint. Now I wonder, he never complained my cooking either…

When I saw this recipe,I immediately thought of him. This is known as copy cat KFC honey BBQ wings, and since I never had wings from the Colonel, I am not sure if I agree with the name of this recipe so I re-named it as Yum Yum Wings! ( it is really yum-yum!)

Here is the recipe, and instead of MSG I used Italian seasoning I found on the shelf as I am not a big fan of MSG. Next time when my chickadees come back to the hen house for family dinner, you bet I am going to make a big batch and see his eyes light up !

Recipe from: http://www.food.com/recipe/copycat-kfc-honey-bbq-wings-2146

Sauce1 1/4 cups ketchup
1/3 cup white vinegar
1/4 cup molasses
1/4 cup honey
1 teaspoon liquid smoke flavoring
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon onion powder
1/4 teaspoon chili powderWings6 -8 cups vegetable oil
20 pieces chicken wings
1 egg, beaten
1 cup milk
1 cup all-purpose flour
2 1/2 teaspoons salt
3/4 teaspoon pepper
3/4 teaspoon msgDirections:
Combine the sauce ingredients in a small saucepan over medium heat. Stir until ingredients are well-combined and bring to a boil.
Then reduce heat and simmer uncovered for 15-20 minutes.
As sauce is simmering, heat up 6 to 8 cups of oil in a deep fryer set to 350 degrees.
Combine the beaten egg with the milk in a small bowl.
In another small bowl, combine the flour, salt, pepper and MSG.
When oil is hot, dip each wing first in the flour mixture, then into the milk and egg mixture, and back into the flour.
Arrange wings on a plate until each one is breaded.
Fry the wings in the oil for 9-12 minutes or until light, golden brown.
If you have a small fryer, you may wish to fry 10 of the wings at a time. Drain on paper towels or a rack.
When the sauce is done, brush the entire surface of each wing with a light coating of sauce. Serve immediately.

20130419-152628.jpg

About mamaj

mom with two grown up girls, children pastor, avid knitter, coffee-lover, bear-collector. I love reading, hanging out with my girl friends and yes, I am owned by a golden lab, Jaden.

Leave a Reply

