korean chicken wings

Standard

chicken wingsNov. 25 , 2013

I have not blogged for a long time, as you can guess I have not been trying out new dishes.  Not only that but I have been busy with my knitting  for the November craft fair.   The ladies in my club did extremely well, and this year we managed to raise $1400 for the homeless community in our area !!

Dinner for a while has become a chore, and now that knitting frenzy is over I really want to put some excitement back to it.  I have started to love Korean food, and my favorite is the short rib ! I can eat them all the time and  have coined it my “happy ribs”, any time I feel a little down the ribs will manage to pick me up.  I have also learned to appreciate the spiciness of Korean cooking, and it has taken me a while to train my taste buds.   I am fortunate to live in an area with a well stocked Korean supermarket, I found the ingredients with ease, and the best thing about the Korean chili paste is its mildness and tangyness.  I added a tsp of  brown sugar in the simmering  to bring the favor out a bit.  It is such an awesome dish to have on a cold rainy night.  Just love the taste and the color of it !!

So here is the recipe from Rasa Malaysia

Korean Spicy Chicken Stew
Adapted from the Kimchi Chronicles Cookbook

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons oil
1 1/4 lbs chicken, cut into pieces and seasoned with some salt and pepper
1 onion, sliced
10 oz potatoes, cut into pieces
5 baby carrots
2 stalks scallions, cut into 2-in lengths

Seasoning:

3 tablespoons Korean chili paste
1/2 cup water
1 teaspoon Korean chili powder
1 tablespoon rice wine (or sake)
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1 teaspoon anchovy sauce (or fish sauce) or to taste

Method:

Heat the oil in a large pot over high heat. Working in batches if necessary, add the chicken, skin-side down, and brown on both sides, about 6-7 minutes per side.

In a small bowl, combine all the Seasoning ingredients and mix well. Set aside.

When all the chicken is browned, add the onion, potatoes, baby carrots, and scallions. Stir a few times to combine well. Add the Seasoning into the pot, stir to blend well with all the ingredients. Cover the pot reduce the heat to medium-low, stirring now and then. Cook for about 45-60 minutes or until the chicken is cooked through and the potatoes are tender. Add some water if the stew is too dry.

http://rasamalaysia.com/korean-spicy-chicken-stew/

Leave a Reply

