Italian Wedding Soup

Standard

20140206-211849.jpg On

Feb 6

We are having a bit of a cold spell lately. I said a “bit” because compare to the rest of Canada we are actually having spring like weather.    Really, I should not even mention the word “cold”, for a person who used to live in the Prairies, this is balmy weather for winter.

days like this, I crave for something hot and soupy, and most of all fast to make.  Normally I would just make a bowl of instant noodle soup and throw in some veggies and fish balls to complete a meal, but tonight I need to get into something new.  I found this recipe on Food.com, and it looks easy, only ten minutes to cook.  The only time consuming step is making the meatballs.  It worked up in a jiffy though, and in less than half an hour of preparation and cooking, I have a bowl of warm piping soup to warm my tummy.

I put in the spinach towards the end, just briefly to wilt it.  I cannot stand overcooked slimy spinach, I guess it is a result of the years of cafeteria food.  Next time, I would put in a squeeze or two of lemon juice.   It was a good thing I had some frozen homemade chicken broth , it sure taste better than the canned stuff.  Need to make some more chicken broth for occasions like this.

Here is the recipe:

http://www.food.com/recipe/italian-wedding-soup-14061

1/2 lb lean ground beef
1 egg, slightly beaten
2 tablespoons breadcrumbs
1 tablespoon parmesan cheese
1/2 teaspoon dried basil
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
5 3/4 cups chicken broth
2 cups chopped escarole or 2 cups chopped spinach
1/2 cup orzo pasta, uncooked
1/3 cup finely chopped carrot
grated parmesan cheese
Directions:
In medium bowl combine, meat, egg,bread crumbs, parmesan cheese, basil& onion powder; shape into 3/4″ balls.

In large sauce pan, heat broth to boiling; stir in spinach, orzo, carrot& meatballs.

Return to boil;reduce heat to medium.

Cook at slow boil for 10 minutes or until orzo is tender.

Stir frequently to avoid sticking.

Serve with additional Parmesan cheese sprinkled on top.

By the way, I thought this soup is so-called as it is something served in wedding banquets, but apparent it is  “Minestra Maritata”, or translated as  married soup, which means the marriage of flavors between the greens and the meats.

Leave a Reply

