Braised Chu Hou Chicken Wings

Standard

 

IMG_3923

September 23

The rain is back with a vengeance today, it was pouring down like crazy this morning when I took the dog for his morning walk, it felt like I was standing in a cold shower for over an hour with water on full.   I spent most of the day trying to chase the chills out of my body and it certainly felt that summer has bid her farewell, and now I am bracing for the rainy cold days ahead.

On days like this I need my comfort food, and chicken wings is one on my list.   When I saw this recipe on Christine‘s blog, I was quite surprised that she used Chu Hou sauce for the wings, it is an eye opener for me, as I only use this sauce in making braised beef, ahhh…. new discovery.  This old dog learned another trick.

This dish got the taste of approval from my critique, and therefore deserve a write-up in this blog.  I made a big serving of it which will last a couple more meals.  Yum.   Thanks Christine for another delicious recipe ,

 

Braised Chu Hou Chicken Wings 

From Christine’s Recipes

The power of every stove is very different, so adjust the amount of water accordingly. Add water bit by bit if needed. Don’t pour too much in one go as you don’t want to dilute the sauce. When the dish is cooked, it should have some sauce but not too watery.

Prep time: 20 mins
Cook time: 15 mins
Yield: 2 to 3 serves

Ingredients:
500 gm chicken wings
½ onion, roughly chopped
½ capsicum, roughly chopped
3 tsp Lee Kum Kee Chu Hou paste
1 shallot, sliced
3 garlic, sliced
50 ml water
spring onion, to taste
Marinade:
1½ tsp light soy sauce
1 tsp sugar
1 tsp shaoxing wine
2 tsp freshly grated ginger juice
½ tsp cornflour / corn starch
1/8 tsp salt
white pepper, to taste
Method:
Rinse the chicken wings. Wipe dry. Chop into bite-sized chunks. Mix with marinade well. Set aside for 20 minutes.
Heat oil in a wok or frying pan. Saute onion until translucent. Push to the sides of wok. Add some oil in the middle. Saute shallot and garlic. Add Chu Hou paste and stir to combine until aromatic. Toss in the chicken wings. Cook until both sides turn lightly brown. Pour in the water. Cover and cook for about 3 minutes, or until 90% done. Add capsicum and stir fry until it turns soft a bit, still remains crisp. Stir in spring onion. Done. Serve immediately.

 

 

About mamaj

mom with two grown up girls, children pastor, avid knitter, coffee-lover, bear-collector. I love reading, hanging out with my girl friends and yes, I am owned by a golden lab, Jaden.

Leave a Reply

