Pork Chop Onion Rice Bake

Standard

imageMarch 21, 2015

This is a very old recipe given to me by my good friend Mabel at least 20 years ago.  At that time we were busy moms struggling with the kids’ extra-curricula activities and household chores and the biggest challenge for us was to cook a decent and nutritious meal for the family.

I used to make this a lot, and now that the kids are all grown up I hardly make it at all, as a matter of fact it must be at least ten years since.   Today, the chickadee decided to take a stroll down memory lane and said,  ” You have not make the pork chop rice for a long time.”  So I came home and started to dig around for this recipe from my pile of forgotten paper.  I finally found it in an old folder which is so worn out that it is starting to fall apart when I pulled it out from the book shelf.  The recipe was originally written in ink and now the handwritting is so faded that it is almost impossible to read.

Times have changed, now I don’t gather recipes in my binder and everything is either kept in Pinterest or in my blog.  This classical recipe for sure deserve a place of honor here, and in days to come when my chickadees find themselves rushing around with their families they too can find some use for this favorite of ours.

 

Pork Chop Rice Bake

6 pork chops ( 1-1 1/2 inches thick)

1 tbsp vegetable oil

1 cup uncooked rice

1 envelope Onion Soup Mix

1 can sliced mushrooms ( or fresh)

Hot water

 

Method:

  • Brown chops in oil
  • Spread rice on a baking dish
  • Reserve about 1 Tbsp of soup mix and sprinkle rest of the mix on top of rice.
  • Drain mushroom, reserve liquid, spread mushroom on top of rice. ( if using fresh mushroom, blanche it in boiling water for a few sections to let them sweat a bit)
  • Add hot water to the reserved liquid to make 3 cups of liquid and pour over rice
  • Arrange browned chops on top of rice mixture and sprinkle the reserved soup mixture on top of chops.
  • Cover tightly with foil and bake in oven at 350F for about 45-60 mins.
  • Remove foil and continue cooking until excess liquid evaporates.

 

About mamaj

mom with two grown up girls, children pastor, avid knitter, coffee-lover, bear-collector. I love reading, hanging out with my girl friends and yes, I am owned by a golden lab, Jaden.

Leave a Reply

